If you’re considering switching to a vegan lifestyle, you may wonder what foods you can eat. Well, you’re in luck! This blog post will explore the vegan diet and show you some tasty vegan foods you can include in your new diet.
Vegan diet basics
A vegan diet is a type of eating that excludes all animal-derived food. A vegan diet is typically high in fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, and seeds. Veganism is often linked with vegetarianism and is becoming a more popular diet choice among many people as they become conscious of the damage of western diets.
Meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, eggs, dairy, and honey are excluded from the vegan diet because they come from animals in one way or the other. Some vegans also avoid items containing animal by-products, such as carmine, beeswax, and tallow. Instead of eating these foods, a vegan diet typically includes fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, and seeds.
Another common misunderstanding is that vegans only eat fruits and vegetables. This is far from true. Vegans can eat meat substitutes, including mock meats made from vegetables or soy. There are also vegan cheeses made from soy, nuts, or nuts.
What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian?
Veganism is based on the principle that animals are not ours to use, so any animal products shouldn’t be used. But vegetarians still consume dairy products and eggs in limited quantities.
Thus, the main differences between a vegan and a vegetarian diet are the types of food eaten and the products used. A vegan diet contains no dairy or eggs. Vegetarians may consume eggs and dairy products such as milk, yogurt, and cheese. Some vegan diets may have byproducts of dairy or eggs, but more strict vegans also avoid those because they feel they would be contributing to animal handling and abuse.
It is a personal decision whether you are a vegan or a vegetarian diet. Veganism is quite a trend, and some consider it an extreme lifestyle. However, there is no proof that a vegan diet is dangerous.